Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Machine recommendations (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/machine-recommendations-t191540.html)

Julie R 06-12-2012 06:40 AM

Machine recommendations

Good morning all. I'm relatively new to the board. I've been quilting for just a couple of years now and have done all of my quilting by hand. I'm interested in machine quilting and have been eyeing the HandiQuilter Sweet 16 (though I read a post that most people prefer machines where it is the machine that you maneuver, not the fabric), the Juki-Grace set-up that is currently being offered at a GREAT price and the Bailey's Home Quilter. Do any of you have any thoughts/opinions on any of those? Would love to hear pros and cons.

Thanks
Julie R

cmw0829 06-12-2012 06:50 AM

Hi Julie,

You need to buy what YOU prefer and what works best for you. Of course, hearing what others have to say is a good way to get lots of ideas on what might work well or not for you.

Best bet would be if you have a quilt show local where a number of vendors will be showing. That way, you could try out different setups and find what you like and which machine feels best to you. This is great when you've never used a longarm before. Lots of touching and feeling. :)

As for the setups you mention, some people love them, some people not so much. You might want to join a Yahoo Group. There's one titled homequiltingsystems (or something like that) and another for Bailey. I can't get you the exact names because Yahoo Groups is restricted on my PC at work. You can review the archives and see what people say. Of course, on the Baily group. everybody will love the Baily, while on the other, you'll see what people have to say about a number of different setups. As far as I know, the Juki is a 9" throat which you might find limiting. Or you might find it just right.