Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Monthly Fabric/Quilting Allowance or Budget?? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/monthly-fabric-quilting-allowance-budget-t146471.html)

JUNEC 08-20-2011 06:52 AM

I have seen several members reference quilting or fabric allowances/budgets when I am reading through topics .

I'm still fairly new to quiling & am curious about how much each of you budget for fabric/quilting supplies each month.

How does it work - drowning in expenses - need to budget, any advice would be helpful

bj 08-20-2011 06:58 AM

I don't really budget, per se. But I don't buy fabric much anymore just because I like it. I try to get fabric with a particular project in mind. And I'm pretty slow, so my fabric purchases are spread out. My only impulse buys for fabric are fat quarters. I like to pick those up just for fun.

But I'd think budgeting for quilting would be like any other expense. Figure what your income can afford and stay with it.

Dingle 08-20-2011 07:04 AM

I don't really budget either. I also don't buy like I use too. I do always look if I go out to garage sales. Never know what you might find :thumbup: The one thing I never seem to have are blenders and tone on tones. I buy that more then anything right now.

QuiltingKrazy 08-20-2011 07:06 AM

I have tried to limit my impluse buying on the internet!
I am trying to buy fabric only when I need something for a specific project. I have promised myself to start purchasing
3 or 4 spools of thread when I catch it on sale to add to my collection (which is small right now) cause it never seems to fail, I'll start on some small project spur of the moment with stash fabric and I don't have thread to match! ugh! I guess what I am trying to say is I am trying to purchase more sensible! not so much impluse!

luvTooQuilt 08-20-2011 07:08 AM