Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Moths! Ack! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/moths-ack-t287539.html)

sewbizgirl 04-14-2017 10:50 PM

Moths! Ack!

Several months ago I bought some wool batting, when Hancock Fabrics were closing their stores. I put it away in an empty dresser to wait til I got ready to hand quilt a top. Tonight I got it out and there are two tiny moth holes where those little pests have gotten in and eaten some wool. :mad: This is my first time to use wool batting. What I need to know is this: If I use the batting, will it be safe enclosed in two layers of cotton, or will the moths eat through the cotton to get to the wool batting? We have a lot of moths around always (here in the middle of the big, big woods in Mississippi) and I would be heartbroken to hand quilt this special quilt, only to have it eaten up by moths.

Hoping someone who has experience with wool batting can answer me. :)

jcrow 04-15-2017 02:52 AM

I only use wool batting and have never had a problem with moths or bugs of any kind. I live in the woods of Oregon and there are lots of moths around. Hope this helps. I've been making quilts since 1992.

mermaid 04-15-2017 02:53 AM

I can tell you what I have read (and don't remember where) to put in plastic bag and put in the freezer--for at least 48 hrs. It is supposed to kill the moths and larvae. Before I learned this, a friend asked me to alter a mouton jacket that she had bought at a yard sale. I had it in a bag, lying on my washer for several days. When I opened it to proceed, little worms fell out. The moth eggs had hatched. She told me to toss the coat. Then I learned about the freezer. EHOW.com might have some info re what to do. Gee, I never thought about moths and wool batting--think I will stay with cotton and poly--can't stand creepy crawlies!

Mitty 04-15-2017 03:20 AM