Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need fabric/color suggestions for my next project (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-fabric-color-suggestions-my-next-project-t56220.html)

DoxieMom 07-25-2010 02:33 PM

For my next project (a twin or full quilt top), I think I'm going to try a block that is a square on point surrounded by 4 triangles (aka square within a square). I want to use Anita Soloman's technique for fast rotary cutting shown in this video: http://www.hgtv.com/video/super-fast...deo/index.html

I'm new at color/fabric selection and haven't the faintest idea how to choose fabrics for this. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

candi 07-25-2010 02:42 PM

I am new to quilting, but picking out colors and fabric is my favorite part. I think of who the quilt is for? Where is it going to be used or displayed? Does the room have a color theme? Does the recipient have a favorite color? And then go from there. For the square within a square, I would probably choose a nice floral fabric or other focus fabric (butterflies, kid's print or whatever depending on the purpose of the quilt), then you can either choose two or four tone-on-tone fabrics with colors that go with the focus fabric colors for the setting triangles. If you want a scrappy look, you can go with any number of colors for the setting triangles and arrange the blocks randomly.
Also you can do a search on the board or the internet in general and take a look at how other quilters used this block.

Good luck and have fun.

candi 07-25-2010 02:52 PM