Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need help with a Jelly Roll Quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-help-jelly-roll-quilt-t200154.html)

huntr 09-10-2012 05:56 PM

Need help with a Jelly Roll Quilt

Hi everyone. I am a Newbie to quilting (literally just started my first quilt). I found the directions for a 1600 Jelly Roll Quilt and thought that even I couldn't screw that up.

Well........ I did and now I don't know how to fix it. I had 2 rolls of 2 1/2 inch x 42 inch fabric. Each roll had 24 pieces. I sewed all 48 strips together thinking that it would just make the quilt a little longer. Now the dimensions are all messed up. It is too large for a throw and not long enough to fit a bed. Any suggesions? I thought about piecing together another Jelly Roll and then adding to the original top strip by strip to get the length of a bed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated !!!!

Sincerely,

Clueless

LyndaOH 09-10-2012 06:05 PM

You're not clueless, just inexperienced! You'll get the hang of this!

What I would do is fix the dimensions by adding borders. It's perfectly fine to add wider borders to the top and bottom of the quilt than to the sides. So, for example, if it finished at 60" x 70" and you are okay with the 60" but need it 10" longer, just add a 5" border to the top and the bottom. If you want to add narrower borders to the sides so they match the top and bottom, go ahead and do so.

One of the great things about quilting is that it's your quilt; the only person you have to please is you. There are all kinds of things that happen when we're creating, and sometimes they take us down interesting new roads.

Have fun with it!

LTeachergeorge 09-10-2012 06:37 PM