Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need Suggestions for a Polyester Quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-suggestions-polyester-quilt-t35569.html)

quiltruth 01-30-2010 04:24 PM

1 Attachment(s)
My mom sewed a lot for her kids and grandkids and then used the scraps to make quilts. This is a lap-size quilt that she made in 2" squares from the original polyester material scraps used in our clothing before she passed away. I would like to finish it, but since I'm very new at quilting, I'm asking for your help. 1) Do I put a border on it and if so, what kind of material since I don't have anymore polyester scraps? 2) What should I use for the binding and backing on it? 3) I'm just learning to use my long arm for quilting, but would that work on polyester, or should I SITD?
I've been a faithful reader of this message board for some time now and know how good your suggestions are, but I've never seen anything about polyester quilts. Thanks for your suggestions.

Mom's Quilt
[ATTACH=CONFIG]63803[/ATTACH]

Maride 01-30-2010 04:36 PM

That is one quilt I would definitely use a basting spray on. I am sure you can find polyesther or similar fabric to add a border. A basting spray will help you control a little the strtching that is bound to happen. Good luck. I love the bright colors.

quiltruth 01-30-2010 04:39 PM

Thank you, Maride. I have never used basting spray, so I'll look into that. The quilt does have a lot of stretch in it.

MaryStoaks 01-30-2010 05:07 PM

I made some poly quilts, I didn't use my longarm to quilt them. I tied them with regular yarn like you would use for an afgan. I used poly batting and flannel backing. These are very warm, indestructable and my grandchildrens' favorites for cold weather. I used a simple block pattern. I bought the poly fabric, very cheap, at thrift stores.

MistyMarie 01-30-2010 05:10 PM