Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Newbie Question about fabric patterns (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/newbie-question-about-fabric-patterns-t80719.html)

Missysgottohelp 12-05-2010 07:32 AM

I'm new to quilting, been doing it about 6 months. When I go to get fabric for a new project I have problems with putting patterns together when selecting fabric. Now I find something that "talks" to me and use it as a focal block then I use more solids that match it. When I see all the wonderful quilts on here I see all kinds of patterns in one quilt and they work. So how do you guys do that? We only have Walmart, Hobby Lobby and one LQS where I live and Walmart and Hobby Lobby are not very helpful and I can't afford to shop at the LQS at this point. Can someone please help? Thanks so much.

hperttula123 12-05-2010 08:10 AM

You should find a color wheel. And just have some fun playing with different colors and patterns. Sometimes things that you'd never think of putting together, work very well.

littlehud 12-05-2010 08:52 AM

I still have problems with that. I bring my youngest daughter with me to pick out fabric. She has never sewn a day in her life but can pick out coordinating fabrics wonderfully. What am I going to do when she moves out.

KarenR 12-05-2010 08:55 AM

Patti

That is when you call and take her for lunch and let her know that you need to stop by the quilt shop.

Scissor Queen 12-05-2010 09:04 AM

To mix patterns think big and small and add a geometric and then fill it out with marble type prints. Solids don't really have any depth or movement.

b.zang 12-05-2010 09:06 AM

I spend a lot of time in the store pulling fabric bolts off the shelves. Pile them up, unwind and put fabrics together, and move, move, move them about.

cherylynne 12-05-2010 09:06 AM