Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Is it normal?? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/normal-t209038.html)

#1piecemaker 12-22-2012 01:01 PM

Is it normal??

If you are using the same kind of thread on your longarm machine each time, is it normal to have to adjust the tension with ever change of color? I've been having to re-adjust every time and I've never had to do that on my regular sewing machine. Just wondering if it was me, my machine or common occurance.

TexasSunshine 12-22-2012 01:22 PM

I am a newbie at LAing and am finding a LA machine is totally different from a regular machine. Your tension does have to be adjusting frequently. When I first got my new machine and tried on my own I got frustrated with it because it was not sewing like I thought it should. Then when the dealer came out and watched me sew she gave me lots of tips and good info. My problem was in the way I am moving the machine and what the stitch regulator was set on. I am doing a lot better now and am improving.

dunster 12-22-2012 02:04 PM

I haven't noticed this myself, but I've heard that some colors of the same kind of thread need different tension because the dye make the thread thicker.

Dolphyngyrl 12-22-2012 05:48 PM

Originally Posted by dunster (Post 5735154)
I haven't noticed this myself, but I've heard that some colors of the same kind of thread need different tension because the dye make the thread thicker.

This is especially true of black

AliKat 12-22-2012 10:08 PM

Even how full the bobbin is can affect a LA.

Cindy60545 12-24-2012 02:31 AM