Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Prices and material choices? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/prices-material-choices-t223701.html)

Nurse2be 06-14-2013 03:43 PM

Prices and material choices?

I am a newer quilter (though compared to some on this site I am ashamed to call myself that!)lol

a little bit of back story...(skip this paragraph if uninterested lol)

I am self taught in all aspects of the phrase. Taught myself to use the machine and all I made was purses and side bags! I got tired of hand stitching them lol. The quilting thing began with making a good friend a baby quilt. Then others wanted one. Then a friend wanted a memory quilt of baseball shirts and jerseys. As more people asked for them it became harder and harder to figure out pricing. And then we would have to meet to go shopping together...

My question...
When making baby/memory quilts to sell how do you choose materials? Do they go shopping with you? Do you just give them color choices? Do you text them samples while you shop? How do you do it if you don't live nearby and are trying to make it custom to their liking?

MartiMorga 06-14-2013 03:50 PM

You are taking on a venture I have not. I can't imagine how you would do it. If you let them pick the materials - I give you a lot of credit. I have seen some materials I just couldn't sew!!! It sounds like you are a very creative person and will have a ball doing this. Good Luck!

Dina 06-14-2013 04:02 PM