Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Question about sending out a quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/question-about-sending-out-quilt-t201314.html)

lunardreams 09-23-2012 09:39 AM

Question about sending out a quilt

Hello everyone! I am a newbie to quilting and I just finished my first quilt top. I had so much fun and was even looking forward to the adventure of machine quilting it myself. Unfortunately I will not be able to finish the quilting because I just got accepted into a Nursing Program and will simply not have the time to work on it.

I was hoping to get some advice on what I need to do about sending the quilt out for someone else to finish the quilting. Has anyone ever done this and if so what do I need to do? Is it expensive? Does anyone know of a good company?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! :) Thanks!

patski 09-23-2012 09:45 AM

there are several on this board all all do great work. Cost depends on size of quilt and what kind of quilting you want done. The laq usually wants the backing/ batting and top but do not pin or baste together because its' put on rollers unlike doing it at home. Good luck with your nursing career. Many nurses also seem to be quilters!!

ckcowl 09-23-2012 09:50 AM

first start locally- visit the local quilt shop, joannes, or local guild & ask who is long-arm quilting in your area- that way you can visit that person, see some of his/her work & discuss policies, preparation, prices ect.
if you are unable to locate someone on your own there is a list here on the board of quilters- you can check the list- see if there is anyone in your area- browse the pictures-see some of the work different ones do & what you like- contact them & discuss what you need to do- everone has their own (policies/prices/turn over time)