Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Question about using stencils to machine quilt. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/question-about-using-stencils-machine-quilt-t163493.html)

Margie 10-26-2011 02:54 PM

I just bought two plastic stencils from Joann's to try quilting on borders. They are small, you just keep tracing them down the border.

Since I have never used them before, I was wondering, after tracing them on the fabric, do you use a walking foot and follow the lines, or do you free motion following the lines...my other option is (I have a Bernina 830), it also has an option that Pfaffs have that comes down and moves the upper layer of fabric...forget what it is called(sort of a built in walking foot).

TY for any input.

bluteddi 10-26-2011 02:59 PM

I dont' know... but I assume u would just FMQ the lines...

give it a few minutes.. someone will have the correct answer for u.....

fabric_fancy 10-26-2011 03:03 PM

i prefer to FMQ over using a walking foot but it really just a personal choice and go with what suits you best.

QuiltnNan 10-26-2011 03:04 PM

my first thought was the walking foot. however, they mostly go in a straight line. if your stencil is a gentle curve, then you can probably do that. i'm not good at stitch length for fmq. so i'd probably use a regular foot and lessen the pressure foot a little.

patchsamkim 10-26-2011 03:17 PM

I would do free motion quilting...unless it is a very simple design, it would be quite difficult to maneuver the quilt using a walking foot.

thimblebug6000 10-26-2011 03:30 PM

Basic lines on your stencil and you could use your walking foot, but if you're crossing over like in a cable you might find you get puckers. I'd probably try the FMQ if it was me.

Jan in VA 10-26-2011 03:30 PM