Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Question for quilters with multiple sewing machines (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/question-quilters-multiple-sewing-machines-t132131.html)

Flying_V_Goddess 06-21-2011 10:43 AM

Lately I've seen several topics on here asking "How many sewing machines do you have?" and quite a lot of the answers were more than one or two. One poster said she owns eleven sewing machines.

I just have one sewing machine. My mom bought it for me around seven years ago for about $60 when I started learning how to machine sew in high school. I really only need one sewing machine to quilt with. But I don't have the room or the funds for more than one anyways.

I see these posts about having multiple sewing machines and I think "Does one really need that many?" I can kind of see where two sewing machines might be an advantage if you're working on two projects at once or have one machine for piecing and the other for FMQ.

So I'm a bit curious. If you do have more than one or two machines, how many do you have and why do have that many? Do you use them all?

Just Me... 06-21-2011 10:46 AM

When one of mine 'dies', I just don't have the heart to discard it! I also have one that I use for embroidery, so I need one to sew with while she is working. Then, I got my 'dieing' one fixed, in case someone comes over to stitch with me and they don't need to bring a machine. :)

vjengels 06-21-2011 10:48 AM

I have three; one to piece, one to bind, and one to quilt. I don't have to mess with the tension on any of them when moving from start to finish.. ( and as a last resort.... if I can't afford to get a tune up on time I have a spare) I have a really small room,9x9 no closet; but manage to have 3 different stations... just a slight twist in the chair and I'm at a different machine.

sewwhat85 06-21-2011 10:52 AM