Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   quilt backing question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilt-backing-question-t195914.html)

taj334 07-27-2012 10:42 AM

quilt backing question

I finally finished my first queen sized quilt top. For the backing I found a 100% polyester king sized quilt set that I could afford. Am I crazy to use the flat sheet for the back? It says it has a 400 thread count. I'm not very good at free motion quilting and plan on splitting the batting so I can quilt it myself.

Deborahlees 07-27-2012 11:12 AM

IMHO....I would not use polyester.....the flat sheet principle I think is ok,,,,,,I am going to assume that the top is made out of cotton fabric, I therefore would only use 100% cotton backing.....equal to equal or same to same.......IMHO

taj334 07-27-2012 11:21 AM

Thanks. I'm a little unsure of the quality too. Just hope I can find the receipt and hopefully return the set. Darn, and it matched perfectly. At $20 bucks I should have known it was too good to be true.

mtteach101 07-27-2012 11:24 AM

I've used top sheets and had nice results. I personally would use 100% cotton, so I am not sure how it would work with 100% polyester.

Joy.lynn 07-27-2012 03:58 PM

I have used polycotton sheets for backing. 100% poly, I have not tried. However, for my mother I used a firm poly fleece for warmth. Turned out soft and warm, no problems with the quilting.

BKrenning 07-27-2012 07:26 PM

I have used poly/cotton blend and had mixed results. If the needle hits some of the poly threads just wrong, it causes runs like in panty hose. Poly/cotton broadcloth was the worst and because of that experience--I would not use the sheets you just bought. Another thought is the thread count is very high compared to normal quilting fabric and it's going to be a bugger to quilt through--almost impossible for hand quilting.

sewbeadit 07-27-2012 07:30 PM