Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Quilting Machine Frames (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilting-machine-frames-t46200.html)

TMK 05-17-2010 09:59 AM

Does anyone have a Grace or Hinterberg that you use your regular machine with? I am looking into purchasing one and I am not sure how fancy I should get. I am just starting out with machine quilting and I am not impressed with just using my machine by itself. Help

TMK 05-17-2010 10:00 AM

Hi, Tina from New York/Canadian border. Just had my first experience with my guild's quilt show. Very interesting and very educational.

Pam 05-17-2010 10:02 AM

Welcome. I have a Grace frame, it is sturdy, but not professional quality. I have it set up for king size, and it is a good thing I have a BIG rec room, that is for sure.

TMK 05-17-2010 10:03 AM

Do you use your home machine or a long arm?

hazeljane 05-17-2010 02:07 PM

I use a Grace GMQ with a mid-arm. I really like it, but already have the bug to get a long arm. It's really addictive. I have a 9 inch throat on my Juki, which gives me between 4-6 inches of quilting room. I think it might shrink to nothing with a smaller machine, but I don't know.

omak 05-17-2010 09:12 PM

I have the Grace Pinnacle ... and a Babylock Quilters' Pro ... a little bigger throat than a basic portable sewing machine ...
it didn't take three quilts to understand that I could do more with a bigger machine ... interesting how much more creative you get when you can move more freely ...
the PLUS side to the system I purchased is: I can upgrade to anything up to an 18 inch mid-arm ....
depending on how important quilting is to you, your decision needs to be based on your space availability and how far you want to go.