Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   sashing (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/sashing-t77554.html)

Betty Angel 11-20-2010 08:25 AM

I have some quilt blocks that I would like to add sashing to. To
complete the quilt top. I am new at quilting and don't quite understand how to add sashing to a row of blocks that are not attached. I think I need to add sashing to the rows vertically and horizontally. But I can figure out how to do this.
Betty Angel

kathy 11-20-2010 08:31 AM

it's easier (I think) to add to each block seperately than a lon strip to a whole row. cut you strip the width you want (I usually go for 2-1/2", gives 2" finished) by the length of one side of your block. sew it on, press and measure the bottom of the block plus the added strip, that's the length for that piece. the blocks on the outside perimeter will of course have more than 2 strips

dunster 11-20-2010 08:36 AM

Here's one description of how to do it. If you don't want the cornerstones, just make the sashing strips longer when it says to add them.
http://www.synthcom.com/~val/Quilts/Tutorials/AddingSashing.html

littlehud 11-20-2010 09:09 AM

If I just want one row of sashing between the blocks I add sashing to one side of my blocks, then add the next block.......add sashing to the new block and then another block til my whole row is done. I complete all my rows and then at a long strip of sashing to the long side of a row. Then I attach the next row. Keep it up til you have attached all the rows. Clear as mud, right.

Sadiemae 11-20-2010 11:27 AM

Originally Posted by littlehud