Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Sewing Machines That are Necessary to Quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/sewing-machines-necessary-quilting-t98086.html)

EllieGirl 02-09-2011 04:19 AM

I'm new to quilting and have completed two quilts. I have a Singer Essential and that's all. What do you consider a necessary machine to have for quilting? If you have more than one machine, why do you? Also is there a machine that isn't a long arm but has enough space to put maybe a toddler or twin size quilt under?

hobbykat1955 02-09-2011 04:46 AM

My first really good sewing machine was a Husqvarna Viking Lily 545 that I bought back in 2000. It has many build in decorative stitches and alphabet.
then in 2007 I decided I wanted to do embroidery so I bought a Husqvarna Viking SE which is a combo sewing/embroidery...LOVE IT...Has so many built in stitches for quilting, heirloom, deoorative etc...I'll never be able to use all of them. Well worth the money can't live without either machine.
and yes, you can quilt a lap/twin easily on these two machine.

Hen3rietta 02-09-2011 04:50 AM

I like my Brother single stitch 1500. It only does straight stitching but has a larger throat area. I can comfortably machine quilt up to a twin. In fact the machine came with a quilting frame and I took it off and now use it table top style.

Diana

sandyo 02-09-2011 04:51 AM

You really only need your sewing machine. It depends on how fancy you want your stitches and what you want to accomplish as you get more into it. I would suspect most quilters just use their sewing machine. I have an embroidery machine but has very little to so with quilting. Also have a back up old machine for emergency. I do not have long arm, to expensive and not sure where I would set it up. Do all my quilting on my regular machine. A long arm would be fun though, maybe I will get to try one someday.