Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Simple take along ideas needed (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/simple-take-along-ideas-needed-t150120.html)

LLWinston44 09-03-2011 11:25 AM

So I had promised my 9 year old, at the beginning of summer, a trip to the waterslides before summer was over. I waited till the last minute didn't I!?!? Well, when I learned that they charge according to height and not age, which makes him (at 5 feet tall) a full priced ticket I decided that I would let him and dh play while I stayed inside and...well... Sit. I am sooooooo bored!!! Ive got the iPad and a book, but alll I can think about is that I wish I had something to sew!!!
Remember, I am a beginner and thus far the only hand work I've done is binding. What is something easy to learn by myself so I never have to do this again?!?! Lol

loves_2_quilt 09-03-2011 11:27 AM

I have circles cut for yoyos that I take along when we visit my father-in-law. I don't know what I am going to do with them, but some day I will have enough for a LARGE project!

GGinMcKinney 09-03-2011 11:30 AM

Cathedral window tutorials are on you tube. You can pre-cut squares and put a few in a zip lock bag. I prethread about six needles and put in a pin cushion or on a magnet and put into another zip lock bag. Take scissors or something to cut the thread. I can even do a few in the car wash!!

Jo M 09-03-2011 11:36 AM

I keep a little bag of Sugar'nCream cotton yarn and a crochet hook on hand that I can grab & take along. I make simple potholders. They're quick, easy and everyone loves them as gifts. The pattern is inside the label and it's pretty forgiving if you skip a stitch or make a mistake.

Glassquilt 09-03-2011 11:58 AM