Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Singer 99K (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/singer-99k-t153622.html)

Briarberry 09-17-2011 07:02 AM

I have been wanting a semi-portable machine for a while. By reading this board and doing other research it seems the Singer 99K is a good one. I am fairly new to quilting and have been using my mom's Singer 15-90 which is great but certainly can't be moved around especially since it's in a cabinet.
So - I found one on kijiji (Canadian version of Craigslist) for $45.00. It looks great and the case is included. The ad says it works well. I pick it up tomorrow and I hope I made a good choice. I figure for $45.00, I am not out much. I'd love a featherweight but they are pretty pricey around here. I live in hope I'll run across one some day in a thrift shop!
Did I make a good choice?

amyjo 09-17-2011 07:06 AM

you did good. price wise too. it is a real workhorse and will sew for many years. Lostn51 on the vintage machines has a tute on how to clean and care for your machine without sending to a repairman. have fun with your new machine.

Lacelady 09-17-2011 07:07 AM

Originally Posted by Briarberry
I have been wanting a semi-portable machine for a while. By reading this board and doing other research it seems the Singer 99K is a good one. I am fairly new to quilting and have been using my mom's Singer 15-90 which is great but certainly can't be moved around especially since it's in a cabinet.
So - I found one on kijiji (Canadian version of Craigslist) for $45.00. It looks great and the case is included. The ad says it works well. I pick it up tomorrow and I hope I made a good choice. I figure for $45.00, I am not out much. I'd love a featherweight but they are pretty pricey around here. I live in hope I'll run across one some day in a thrift shop!
Did I make a good choice?