Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   stitching block pieces together (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/stitching-block-pieces-together-t402.html)

Shortcake 01-09-2007 04:17 PM

Hi all, I am new to quilting and have been hand quilting thus far. I would like to use my sewing maching on my next quilt. I am unclear as to how you handle the start and end of the stitching when assembling the blocks. Do you backstitch at each end, or leave the stitching open? Would appreciate any help. Christine

Leslee 01-09-2007 09:11 PM

Hi! Good question! I've always thought if there was a chance the blocks could pull apart, go ahead and use a bit of backstitch. When you're assembling the blocks into rows, the rows will lock the stitches into place as you sew along those lengths. Hope this sounds clear to you :D

joy 01-12-2007 11:05 AM

After sewing a line of stitches, when cutting the thread I don't cut it off at the material, but leave about half an inch of thread and that stops the seam from opening up... Joy

foxxigrani 01-13-2007 07:06 AM