Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Thread for hand quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/thread-hand-quilting-t118974.html)

RoundRobinP 04-26-2011 10:02 AM

Hi again,
I am sure I am going to repeat this question but have to ask. I have watched tutorial's on hand quilting, and saw this both ways, so I am confused. Do you double your thread or is it just single with a knot??

I am new to the hand quilting part of this and want to thank you in advance for the help..

Happy quilting,
Robin

amma 04-26-2011 10:03 AM

Most only use a single strand, but it also can be a personal preference :D:D:D

sueisallaboutquilts 04-26-2011 10:03 AM

Let me see if I can say this coherently:
I use a single strand of quilting thread (heavier than regular thread)
I take my thread and wrap around the needle twice, then move it to the end.
Does this make sense???

Hinterland 04-26-2011 10:06 AM

I use a single strand of hand quilting thread. I put a simple, single knot at the end - the quilter's knot I make is usually too big and makes holes in my top.

And - edited to add - I wiggle my needle in the batting before I pull the knot through. It seems to help bury the knot so it doesn't come out.

Janet

RoundRobinP 04-26-2011 10:10 AM

Thank you for your help! I love this board, your more help than the local quilt shop...Ok, so the nearest one is over an hour away..lol

:-)

Kitsie 04-26-2011 10:26 AM

Originally Posted by Hinterland
I use a single strand of hand quilting thread. I put a simple, single knot at the end - the quilter's knot I make is usually too big and makes holes in my top.

And - edited to add - I wiggle my needle in the batting before I pull the knot through. It seems to help bury the knot so it doesn't come out.

Janet

Glad someone else has trouble "popping" a double knot through the fabric! I also have to use just a single knot or