Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   transferring designs from paper to fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/transferring-designs-paper-fabric-t254912.html)

Imagin 10-07-2014 10:12 AM

transferring designs from paper to fabric

I'm new to free motion quilting but already it's my absolute favourite thing. So far I've just done a bunch of practice sandwiches and, other than a few feather stems, I haven't actually drawn anything on the fabric, I just did it on the fly. Now I want to try something structured and intricate and I've printed off a pattern I really want to do but I have serious hand problems from too many years on the computer using a graphic tablet and pen. Using tracing paper would cause several days of pain. I need another method. My hand is fine for anything that isn't like holding a pen. What other options are there?

joe'smom 10-07-2014 10:57 AM

The only way I know of marking without holding a marker in your hand, is with the ponce pad. This is a pad that you saturate with loose chalk, then gently go over a stencil with the pad, theoretically depositing the chalk in the design lines where it will stay until you remove it. I haven't used this myself yet, so I can't vouch for how well it works.

I haven't tried doing fmq with a marked pattern, as I think it would be difficult to stick to the lines. I'd be interested in hearing what others have to say.

tellabella 10-07-2014 10:59 AM

The pounce pad was my answer too ...but...if you want to rent a Longarm machine you could use the laser light...mine works from the front of the machine too...

Imagin 10-07-2014 11:02 AM

I saw that pounce setup but how would I create a stencil out of a design on a piece of paper? Wouldn't I need it to be on a plastic sheet with cutouts where the lines go?

QuiltnNan 10-07-2014 11:07 AM