Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   trouble with applique warping (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/trouble-applique-warping-t161221.html)

MostlyMaja 10-17-2011 04:59 PM

Hi to All:

I am doing an applique and after I quilted around the applique and some quilting further out on the square it began to look distorted. It's only about 24" x 24". I didn't use an embroidery hoop to start with, but I have undone the quilting stitches to start over. Will a 6" or 8" hoop solve all this. I basted with safety pins about every 4" or 5". Didn't seem to do any good. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks

quiltingfan 10-17-2011 05:08 PM

good luck, i have not done any so I would not know.

Treasureit 10-17-2011 05:16 PM

Are you talking about the quilting process??? I can't help you there...applique - I have some experience.

QuiltnNan 10-17-2011 05:16 PM

oh, i've never had that happen. sorry, i don't have an answer.

hopetoquilt 10-17-2011 05:21 PM

I read somewhere that you should cut your block slightly larger than the required size due to the fact that applique may warp it or change the size of it. Once the applique is done, you trim the block to square it.

I don't speak from personal experience b/c I haven't done much applique...yet

MostlyMaja 10-17-2011 05:27 PM

I mean that the outer edges are drawn up towards the middle, mostly along the lower edge and one side edge. It's no longer even around the edges.

MostlyMaja 10-17-2011 05:35 PM

well, I added border strips before I quilted it so, maybe that's where I went wrong. Thanks for the advice.

Originally Posted by hopetoquilt
I read somewhere that you should cut your block slightly larger than the required size due to the fact that applique may warp it or change the size of it. Once the applique is done, you trim the block to square it.

I don't speak from personal experience b/c I haven't done much applique...yet