Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What Makes an Ideal Backing Fabric-small scale or lrg scale print, light or dark? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-makes-ideal-backing-fabric-small-scale-lrg-scale-print-light-dark-t185412.html)

AngelinaMaria 04-08-2012 12:58 PM

What Makes an Ideal Backing Fabric-small scale or lrg scale print, light or dark?

I am new to quilting and was wondering what makes a more ideal backing fabric? I was thinking medium to large scale print in medium to light tone but wanted to see what quilters who have made several quilts think.

I am thinking of a backing for a quilt that will be quilted in a "less is more" style (basic straight lines or gentle meander). I have seen a lot of solid backings in white or cream but I don't really prefer this (I know from seeing some spectacular pictures, that the solid light fabric really shows off the beautiful and intricate quilting--however, I see these quilts as being more simple in style).

QuiltE 04-08-2012 01:13 PM

Anything goes!!

If you want to have the quilting show, yes, a plain back is better ... though it does not have to be light. You can choose a thread to help it show.

If you want to disguise the quilting on the back (eg. it doesn't always look good from the back!) ... a print will help to do the trick! Large, medium or small ... your choice!

And too, some use leftovers from the front, to create a scrappy back. Or a few extra blocks leftover from the front worked into the back can be nice!

It's really a matter of what you want and prefer ... like most of quilting, there's no rules!

Pat625 04-08-2012 01:21 PM

Many times I use muslim for my back, unless I want to make the quilt reversable...then I use a print.

ckcowl 04-08-2012 02:47 PM

it depends on the quilt top-