Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What method do you use to "sandwich" your quilts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-method-do-you-use-%22sandwich%22-your-quilts-t35583.html)

mtnmama 01-30-2010 07:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
When I took my first quilt class about 9 years ago, I was taught to layer my quilt then use safety pins about a hand's width apart over the whole quilt. This process is so tedious, hard to crawl around on the floor or lean over a table. On smaller wall hanging or table runners I have used the spray adhesive. What do you folks use?.... :roll: Here is one ready to put in the pins. Back breaking.

SherriB 01-30-2010 07:27 PM

First let me tell you that this quilt is gorgeous!!! I am a new and self-taught quilter. I read books and looked at on-line tutorials and most have done the pinning method. I pin most of my quilts. I have bought two types of adhesive, 505 and June Taylor (not sure if correct name). The 505 was great-no odor at all but very expensive. The other spray (comes in a pink can) worked great but has a horrible odor that lingered in my quilts, even after washing.

I am going to get a pair of knee protectors to protect my poor knees when I pin baste on the floor.

mtnmama 01-30-2010 07:33 PM

SherriB, Thanks, That picture was taken a while ago. I hand quilted that red and white quilt. I'm not sure why, the fabric is so busy you cant really see the quilting, but I know it's there. The knee protectors are a good idea, now I guess a back brace is in order also. I used the 505 on my small quilts, I even used it on a lap quilt, but even that was crawling around on the floor to smooth it from the center and get all the wrinkles out. That is why I asked this question, to see if there were any other great ideas out there.

littlehud 01-30-2010 08:04 PM