Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   what is too young? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-too-young-t61124.html)

sahm4605 08-24-2010 10:04 AM

My DD loves to help mommy sew and cut fabric and use the sewing machine. She is always wanting to do it on her own though. She is getting good at the sicssors and using a needle, but is she really too young to be doing more than just "playing" with them? she is only 2 1/2. (I got those lacing boards with string to help her get the idea of put the thread threw the hole and pull it out the other side) Is there a good way that I can teach her how to hand sew and use the machine? ( I am new to quilting and don't know a lot myself.) And when I get her her own sewing machine what is a good age to do that at? I was figuring probably between 6-8 years old, depending on maturity and how much interest she has at that point.

bearisgray 08-24-2010 10:09 AM

How adept is she at other things?

My daughter's third-born was very adept at physical things at that age.

Maybe when she is able to operate the controls?

Better to show her so she does it right, than to have her "experiment" on her own.

Give her some squares that are "good enough to keep" (but not so expensive that it would really hurt to not be able to use them) and see what happens.

Sometimes kids totally amaze me at what they can do.

sahm4605 08-24-2010 10:17 AM

I have given her needle and thread and two squares of fabric to "practice" sewing on. she had trouble pulling the needle through the fabric and she would just randomly insert the needle. I was going to try and draw lines with a pen for her to follow. looking for very cheep light colored fabric to do this with however.