Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   what to use for making templates? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-use-making-templates-t6443.html)

runningwithlola 04-23-2008 11:45 AM

after cutting out a few pieces for blocks, I've decided that I want the sewing lines, so I want to make templates.

I'm a total newbie here. What do you use for templates? Some kind of plastic, acetate? Where do you get it?

amma 04-23-2008 11:57 AM

I have used the quilting templates that you can buy at Walmart, quilt shops, etc.... but, I also use plastic lids from coffee cans, the thin plastic sheet cutting boards from the dollar stores, there was a tip here about using the plastic piece that is used as packaging with bacon. You can use anything that is made of plastic.... I do not recomend cardboards as they tend to shrink on the edges.

ccbear66 04-23-2008 11:59 AM

I personally have never used templates but I have sceen template plastic at Joann's and also at hobby lobby. I think that Walmart may have it also but with all the Walmarts downsizing the fabric dept. they may have done away with that also. I think that I have also read where someone used the plastic that comes on report covers. Just remember there are no quilt police so you can use whatever works best for you.
Welcome to our friendly quilting family.

all4quilt 04-23-2008 12:02 PM

I had to laugh about your comment on the "quilt police". Thank goodness there are none of those! Our imaginations would go caput!

vicki reno 04-24-2008 03:57 AM

I like to cut out my paper pattern and then glue it to plastic. That way your cutting and sewing lines are both visible.

adyldrop 04-24-2008 05:59 AM