Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Would Appreciate Machine Recommendations (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/would-appreciate-machine-recommendations-t232870.html)

Jeanne S 10-20-2013 05:18 PM

Would Appreciate Machine Recommendations

I am a beginner quilter, having taken one 4 week class at my local quilting store and have made 2 baby quilts. My little Baby Lock Audrey machine worked OK for the baby quilts, but don't think it will handle anything larger. I only quilted by the 'stitch in the ditch' method, but am thinking about learning to free motion. I have looked at the Baby Lock Jane and the Juki TL-1020 machines for larger, simple table top machines with free motion capability. I would sure appreciate any recommendations from you experienced quilters. Thanks very much!

Prism99 10-20-2013 05:57 PM

I'd love to have the Juki. It is great for piecing and for free-motion quilting. Don't know anything about the Baby Lock Jane.

Another machine you might want to check out is the Janome 6600P. Unlike the Juki, which is strictly a straight-stitch machine, the Janome has decorative stitches too. I think the harp space is similar.

kathdavis 10-20-2013 06:24 PM

For quilting, you want to go for the largest harp space you can afford. I really like my Brother Laura Ashley 2000. It has a 9" harp. I know there are others that are a few inches bigger. I would probably recommend going into a sewing machine shop and letting them show you what they have. Play with all of them a while.

alleyoop1 10-21-2013 03:42 AM

Before you buy, if you can possible attend a large quilt show or visit several dealers, it would help you decide. Try out any machine before you buy it. Make sure they have good support and will teach you how to use the machine. Then, as an educated buyer, you can buy the best machine for your needs and your pocketbook.

mighty 10-21-2013 06:55 AM