Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Puckers >

Puckers

Puckers

Old 03-28-2010, 01:23 PM

I am very new to quilting. I've been trying to learn to machine quilt. How do you make sure that you don't get puckers either on the backing or in the front? I lay my backing on the tile floor and then tape it to the floor. I baste my quilt sandwich with basting safety pins. I'm doing some very basic quilting...outlining a square. I use a walking foot for that. I tried free motion quilting and the backing puckered even worse. I start in the middle & work my way out to the sides. Any hints for a newbie?
Old 03-28-2010, 01:50 PM
Power Poster

My life saver was basting spray. It holds the sandwich so much better and I had less problems with puckering then. Give it a try. It will help.
Old 03-28-2010, 02:01 PM

Several people here recommend really seriously starching the backing fabric. Some do spray starch and some do liquid. Go to "Search" at the top of the page, put in "Starch" and you'll get lots of information. Both for cutting accurate pieces and getting a smooth backing, lots of people starch.

Someone recently said on one thread that you can add spray starch to your backing even if you have it already basted to your quilt. I've never tried it myself but I thought it was an interesting suggestion.
Old 03-28-2010, 02:09 PM

Thank you so much for answering. I will try the spray & the starch as someone else suggested. I'm making simple rail fence quilts for some friends and so I will try both.
Old 03-28-2010, 02:10 PM

Thank you for answering. I'm certainly going to try the starch. I like your teapot saying, too.
Old 03-28-2010, 04:57 PM
Power Poster

Yup, starch! It stabilizes the backing fabric so it doesn't stretch and pucker on you while you are quilting. I heavily starch my backing fabrics before layering.