Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Queen Size Rail Fence Help >

Queen Size Rail Fence Help

Queen Size Rail Fence Help

Old 03-24-2013, 08:32 PM

Default Queen Size Rail Fence Help

I would like to make a queen size rail fence quilt with 3.5in strips, 3 colors for the blocks, a 3in outer dark border, and an 2in inner light border.
Ok, now I don't know how wide the strips for the blocks need to be and could use some help calculating yardage for each fabric.
This is my first bed quilt and I'm a little intimidated, but determined!
Thanks in advance for the help!he
Old 03-24-2013, 08:36 PM

Queen size is a bit vague. Can you give the finished dimension of your quilt?
Old 03-24-2013, 08:50 PM

Something around 90x100. I'm sorry I'm not very specific, I've never done this before and I'm not exactly sure what the dimensions should be. I know that's on the large side of queen size, which is what I'm looking for. I'd also like slightly larger blocks which is why I'd like to do 3.5in instead of the standard 2.5in strips.
Old 03-24-2013, 09:02 PM

Oops and I meant to say I don't know how LONG to make the strips. That would be the width of the block.
Old 03-24-2013, 09:12 PM
Power Poster

If you are using 3.5" wide strips and 3 strips per block, I would strip piece the 3 strips together and then cut them at 9.5" to make 9.5" square blocks. When sewn together, finished block size will be 9". (Note: it's a good idea to actually measure your width after the 3 strips are sewn together and cut the blocks at *your* width -- which may be slightly smaller or larger than calculated measurements. As long as they are square, any size block is fine. For this reason and for efficiency, this is why I would not pre-cut all the strip lengths but would wait to cut until you have strip sets sewn.)