Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Question about Accuquilt strips

  1. #1
    Junior Member Pinkrose4664's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    281
    Hi

    I haven't gotten one of these yet and am wondering when you do the strip cuts say for a 4 or 9 patch, can you sew the strips together (quick method) and send them through the machine to cut the rows?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Member PegD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,167
    Blog Entries
    4
    I believe you can, you will have to cut them to fit the width of the machine first, and then turn them sideways to go through. Clear as mud?

  3. #3
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,483
    You can do this, but they won't necessarily be as accurate as I'd want them to be. If the fabric shifts just a smidge during the rolling etc. I would still cut mine with a rotary cutter and ruler. But, I'm a perfectionist. I use the strip dies all the time though!

  4. #4
    Junior Member Pinkrose4664's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    281
    Quote Originally Posted by PegD
    I believe you can, you will have to cut them to fit the width of the machine first, and then turn them sideways to go through. Clear as mud?
    funny, there are so many discriptions of quilts and stuff (the fleece scarf everyone is raving about) that I can not understand because I need to see the process happening to understand the directions, but I understood yours LOL We must be on the same wave lenghth or somthing. Thank you

  5. #5
    Junior Member Pinkrose4664's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    281
    Quote Originally Posted by Candace
    You can do this, but they won't necessarily be as accurate as I'd want them to be. If the fabric shifts just a smidge during the rolling etc. I would still cut mine with a rotary cutter and ruler. But, I'm a perfectionist. I use the strip dies all the time though!
    Thank you for the caution. I will play around with it when I get it :P

  6. #6
    Super Member Connie in CO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Canon City, Colorado
    Posts
    2,438
    Blog Entries
    2
    Just bought my Go Baby yesterday :thumbup:

  7. #7
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    I sew scrap fabric together and cut out shapes using the Go. I haven't tried sewing strips and then cutting squares from that. I have the 6 1/2" square die so I guess I could sew 2 1/2 strips together and then cut the squares. I could have a rail fence block done in no time!

  8. #8
    Junior Member Pinkrose4664's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    281
    LOVE IT! :thumbup:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.