Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Question about labels >

Question about labels

Question about labels

Old 07-02-2013, 05:47 PM

Default Question about labels

Hello! Just started quilting about 8 months ago with the help of some great work friends who have been patiently helping me along. And I've learned so much from this site. You are a community of wonderful people who build each other up and share your great ideas. So- thank you for that. Now my question - I've read some posts about signing your quilts. What is a common way to do this? Embroidering your initials, sewing on a label? I. Not sure. I just finished my first quilt which I made for my hubby and I'm sure he won't forget where it came from, but I think it's a nice idea maybe when making gifts for other people. How many of you do this?
Old 07-02-2013, 05:54 PM

Welcome DawnS. I'm fairly new to quilting too. Most definately put a label on all your quilts. Generally, I use a scrap of fabric and hand write (in pencil) the info I want to include. Then embroidery and attach it to the quilt. Several local quilters have told me to include my name, who it's going to (if it's a gift), the date and town/state. This is good to do for history's sake. **wish my Mother had done this with her quilts.
Old 07-02-2013, 06:18 PM

I use a piece of muslin and a fabric marker. I write my name, the name of the quilt, the number of the quilt...i'm on 26 now....my location and the date finished. If its a gift
or theres anything special about the fabric, i put that on there too. For example, i rescued some blocks at a flea market in VA so i noted that .
Old 07-02-2013, 09:34 PM