Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Question about using stencils to machine quilt.

Murrysville, PA
    I just bought two plastic stencils from Joann's to try quilting on borders. They are small, you just keep tracing them down the border.

Since I have never used them before, I was wondering, after tracing them on the fabric, do you use a walking foot and follow the lines, or do you free motion following the lines...my other option is (I have a Bernina 830), it also has an option that Pfaffs have that comes down and moves the upper layer of fabric...forget what it is called(sort of a built in walking foot).

TY for any input.

I dont' know... but I assume u would just FMQ the lines...

give it a few minutes.. someone will have the correct answer for u.....

at my sewing machine
    i prefer to FMQ over using a walking foot but it really just a personal choice and go with what suits you best.

western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Blog Entries
    my first thought was the walking foot. however, they mostly go in a straight line. if your stencil is a gentle curve, then you can probably do that. i'm not good at stitch length for fmq. so i'd probably use a regular foot and lessen the pressure foot a little.

Fox Valley Wisconsin
    I would do free motion quilting...unless it is a very simple design, it would be quite difficult to maneuver the quilt using a walking foot.

British Columbia
    Basic lines on your stencil and you could use your walking foot, but if you're crossing over like in a cable you might find you get puckers. I'd probably try the FMQ if it was me.

Central Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    I have done many stenciled designs with my walking foot.....IF they are not too curvy or complicated. I prefer the end result over the FMQ for myself.