Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Question for hand quilters

Question for hand quilters

I'm fairly new to hand quilting and have had several different answers to this question. Do I start in the middle of the quilt, quilt the width of the quilt in one direction, then turn the quilt to do that same row to the other side of the quilt OR do I quilt in a circular motion always working my way to the outside?

It depends on whether you're quilting in a hoop or without a hoop, or in a frame.

When I quilt in a hoop or without one, I start in the center and quilt in a circular motion on my way to the outside.

I usually quilt in a frame, and in the frame I start in the center of the row, quilt toward the edge, then go back to the center and quilt to the other side. And because my frame has 3 poles, I start at the beginning of the quilt.

The theory is I don't want to quilt in any puckers. If I quilt this way, I smooth out the backing and top.

I hope this helps.

Janet

dd
    I've always worked from the center out. So yes, I work kinda in circles. Kinda the way my life goes.lol
    Blessed are the quilters, for they are the piecemakers.

Quote Originally Posted by Hinterland View Post
    It depends on whether you're quilting in a hoop or without a hoop, or in a frame.

When I quilt in a hoop or without one, I start in the center and quilt in a circular motion on my way to the outside.

I usually quilt in a frame, and in the frame I start in the center of the row, quilt toward the edge, then go back to the center and quilt to the other side. And because my frame has 3 poles, I start at the beginning of the quilt.

The theory is I don't want to quilt in any puckers. If I quilt this way, I smooth out the backing and top.

I hope this helps.

Janet