Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Question for Owners of Brother PQ1500S (especially those who don't use a frame)

  1. #1
    Super Member DonnaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,214
    I have a question about the Brother PQ1500S sewing machine.

    I know there are quite a few here who do not use their machines on a frame; you're the folks I have a question for! Do any of you use the Grace Speed Control with your machine? It's my understanding (from reading stuff on the 'net) that the Grace control subsitutes for the Start/Stop button, as well as regulating the machine's speed, because it's a replacement for the foot pedal.

    I'm used to FMQ with the Start/Stop button only (could never get my hands and feet to coordinate FMQ using the foot pedal). I'm thinking of purchasing the PQ1500S and the Grace control so that I could have all of that nice extra room for FMQ, and I would also use it for piecing. This would be as a regular sewing machine, NOT on a frame.

    Any and all responses welcomed!!

  2. #2
    Senior Member c1bendt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    651
    I have this machine and it does not have a start/stop button, just the foot pedal. I will be watching this though as I would like to get some kind of speed control on my machine too.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,396
    This can be done, provided you have the Grace Speed Control specific for that machine. The Grace Speed Control is specific to each brand and sometimes model of machine. They are not all the same. For instance, a Grace Speed Control for a Viking MegaQuilter might not work for a Brother PQ1500S or even a different Viking model. The major difference being the plug configuration.

  4. #4
    Super Member DonnaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,214
    Thank you! I understand about the different controls. I've been looking at the Allbrands website, and they are very clear about which controls work with specific machines (each one has a list). So, that's the easy part! I was also wondering if anyone actually uses the machine in this way or had tried it.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    North Central Texas
    Posts
    9
    Donna,
    I am considering buying the Brother PQ1500S and was wondering what your opinion is of the machine?

  6. #6
    Super Member BluegrassGurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, Kentucky
    Posts
    1,370
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have the exact set-up you are considering.... (machine & Grace speed control) but have not tried it yet. I have been sewing with the machine just to get use to it.... playing with tension... etc... before I begin quilting. I have 3 quilt tops ready to go and am anxious to get started. I am, however, starting with a simple lap size quilt so that I can practice. My husband built me a custom table frame (with moving platform). Hopefully, I will get to try it all out this weekend. I'll keep you posted.

  7. #7
    Member CharleneS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by BluegrassGurl View Post
    I have the exact set-up you are considering.... (machine & Grace speed control) but have not tried it yet. I have been sewing with the machine just to get use to it.... playing with tension... etc... before I begin quilting. I have 3 quilt tops ready to go and am anxious to get started. I am, however, starting with a simple lap size quilt so that I can practice. My husband built me a custom table frame (with moving platform). Hopefully, I will get to try it all out this weekend. I'll keep you posted.
    Donna and Tigger,
    I have used a Brother PQ-1500S for years and love it. I have sold a new Janome 6600 because I couldn't stand the feed on fine fabrics and use my 1500 almost exclusively with the exception of buttonholes and wide stitches. (I use one of my cheap Brothers from WalMart for those things. (I have those to teach sewing) I love the 1500 so much, I got another used one from my dealer. The second one I put on a mid-range Grace frame with the stitch regulator.

    The stitch regulator I'm pretty sure will not work without the frame and carriage set-up. It has sensors coming from the X- and Y-axis wheels on the carriage so it can detect the speed/direction of the hand-controlled movement. That is how it slows and speeds up the machine to make fairly regular stitches so matter the direction. There is not a similar way to get that input from moving fabric on the flatbed of a machine at a table. I'm not an expert, but that's how I see it from setting it up and using it for quite some time. Attached is a close-up photo with part of the sensor and wires to help visualize this.

    If you hear of anyone wanting to sell their 1500, please let me know. I am always in the market. And I would love to buy another one for use in classes and possibly one to donate for humanitarian aid volunteer sewing work in our church.

    BTW, I would probably sell the Grace frame, sure stitch, and quick-zip system, fourth rail, etc. I'm in Idaho.

    Good luck to you all.

    --Charlene
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #8
    Senior Member Michellesews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    El Paso Texas
    Posts
    698
    I have a Brother 1500 I want to sell. Asking $350 plus shipping from zip 79904. Might not be worth it with shipping, not sure. Michelle Guadarrama
    Michelle Guadarrama

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,215
    I have the Grace Speed Control for the Brother 1500 and it's still in the box. The machine is so good I have learned to be pretty good using the pedal. I keep thinking I need to try it out. The box explains a lot: don't know why it posted twice.
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Onebyone; 09-23-2014 at 09:33 AM.
    I love my life!

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,215
    I tried it this morning. Works great on my Brother 1500 no frame. The back panel has the settings for the other brand of machines. It's easy to see what you need to set it too from the diagram in the instruction sheet. The cord plugs into the machine where the foot pedal plug goes. That's it. Took me about 10 seconds to install.
    I love my life!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.