Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt Design programs/tips/tricks >

Quilt Design programs/tips/tricks

Quilt Design programs/tips/tricks

Old 06-26-2015, 01:36 PM

Default Quilt Design programs/tips/tricks

I have been designing quilts on paper and using programs like Photoshop for a while, but I know there are programs out there specifically for quilt design that might make the process easier/faster. I was wondering what was recommended (or not recommended, if that's the case!) and if any of the programs have a free trial. I am very computer literate, but I am also way too set in my ways for someone in her 20's! I don't know if I will have to change my process more than I am comfortable with, and I want to make sure I'll use the program before I spend the money.

Thanks for any and all advice/recommendations!
Old 06-26-2015, 02:01 PM
Power Poster

I have extensive experience with both vector based and paint type programs. I found EQ7 to be counter intuitive, however, the program is very powerful and worth the learning curve, but Photoshop & Illustrator background doesn't help. I usually start with paper, go to Illustrator to refine, then go to EQ7 to refine the block(s) some more & lay out the whole quilt with borders & colors.
Use the advanced search on the Tutorial board for the string: "Rhonda's Electric Quilt Class". There are 20+ classes. You can get a good idea of the basics from there. Don't know if there are any trials out there.
Quilt in a day usually has the best price by far. She can't advertise it, but put the program in your basket to see the price.
Old 06-27-2015, 04:03 AM

Thanks for the tip, that is definitely the lowest price I've seen on EQ7!

Since you seem to have a background similar to mine - would you mind taking the time to elaborate why EQ7 was counter intuitive for you and what features make it worth the learning curve for you?

I will definitely check out those videos. Thank you.
Old 06-27-2015, 04:10 AM
Power Poster