Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt Guild, Modern Quilt Guild >

Quilt Guild, Modern Quilt Guild

Quilt Guild, Modern Quilt Guild

Old 06-11-2013, 01:55 PM

Default Quilt Guild, Modern Quilt Guild

I am new to quilt guilds, but would like to join one to meet quilting people.
In the area I am going to move to, there are 2 quilt guilds.
There is the Greater XXX City Quilt Guild and the XXX City Modern Quilt Guild.

I am wondering if there is any difference between the "traditional" and "modern" quilt guilds?

Thank you.
Old 06-11-2013, 02:06 PM

The most obvious difference is that the modern quilt guilds attract quilters who are primarily interest in modern quilts. Other types of guilds attract everybody. Nothing stops you from being member of both. Go to a meeting in each and see where you fit in the best. Age can also be a factor, BUT if you are a new quilter you may really benefit from the one that has more seasoned quilters. The choice is yours. I am an equal opportunity quilter leaning more toward contemporary, but I belong to a traditional guild. Good luck!
Old 06-11-2013, 02:10 PM

Thanks. I went to their websites. At first glance, the biggest difference is the average age of the members. The quilts on display are also more modern in outlook, more casual in style.I guess I may probe around more, perhaps go for a first meeting before deciding.

Last edited by liont; 06-11-2013 at 02:12 PM.
Old 06-11-2013, 04:14 PM

Both have skills involved. think about your tastes. It is a good idea to go to a first meeting with both and see how you feel amongst the members.
Old 06-12-2013, 01:13 PM