Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Quilt Pattern-On point

Blog Entries

Quilt Pattern-On point

HELP!!! I am hoping ya'll can help me find a simple quilt pattern. I want to use 5 inch squares (charm packs) and set them on point. No sashing in between. I know most of you wouldn't need a pattern but, I don't know what size blocks to cut to make the HST's for the edges, etc. I would appreciate any help ya'll can give me. I know this doesn't make a lot of sense, but, hope someone can decipher what I'm trying to say. I can see it in my mind just don't know how to exacute it. I'm new to this quilting, and the only thing that get's me by is asking ya'll questions and using patterns with step by step instructions. I don't think I would ever get a quilt done if it weren't for ya'll. Ya'll are just super to share your knowledge. So glad I stumbled on the QB one day. Thanks so much. I learn so much from ya'll. Everyone has been super. I feel we are family. Except no one makes me feel stupid when I ask silly or simple questions. Thanks Again.
    Vonda-Texas MiMi of 4 Beautiful Grandbabies

I am so new to quilting that I don't even know what HST means! But I am going to watch thread because that is how I learn.

Blog Entries
    If you are setting 5" charm squares on point, your finished squares will be 4.5". The side triangles are quarter square triangles. Start with a 7 5/8 square and cut each twice diagonally to create four quarter square triangles from each square. The corner triangles are half squares. Cut two 4 1/8 squares. Cut each once diagonally to make your four corner squares.Here's a good resource for how to cut these triangles, including a chart. From Bonnie Hunterhttp://www.stcroixquilters.com/setting%20triangles.htm