Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Researching for a new sewing/embroidery machine. Would like opinions?

  1. #1
    Member stitchnnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Azle, Texas
    Posts
    65

    Researching for a new sewing/embroidery machine. Would like opinions?

    Hi everyone, I currently have a Singer Futura Ce-150 sewing/embroidery machine. When I got it, I didn't know anything about embroidery. It has been a great beginner machine. BUT, I'm preparing to upgrade in the next 6mos. I'm wanting a bigger embroidery field(currently have 5x7), automatic thread cutter, larger sewing area from needle to neck, and able to leave embroidery unit attached while sewing. I've looked at Babylock Elegante3 and Ellisimo Gold. One feature I like on both of those machines is that you can sew/embroider on leather. Does anyone have opinions on durability of these machines? If I'm going to spend over $5000, I want it to last a LONG time.
    Are there other brands that are better quality for the money? Such as Janome, Bernina, etc.
    Any help/opinions will be GREATLY appreciated!!!!

    God Bless,
    Kristi

  2. #2
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,481
    Really, most higher end embroidery machines would be able to embroider on leather with the appropriate needle. Will you really make use of that? I've heard really good things about Babylock, but I've got both a Janome and Bernina embroidery/sewing machine. You really need to sit and test drive all the machines, by different manufacturers(and possibly different dealers) to make a well rounded decision.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    6,298
    Can't go wrong with a Bernina. My is 8 years old and sews on everything like a dream. Embroidery is beautiful as well. do test them out for yourself.
    Linda

  4. #4
    Member stitchnnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Azle, Texas
    Posts
    65
    Thank you, ladies!! I've only been to Sewing World in Ft Worth, which carries Babylock. I am so paranoid about some shops due to feeling pressured to buy right then. Guess I need to make a trip to MidCities area to test drive Berninas at Hancocks. Linda, do you know anywhere else around Ft Worth that sells Berninas?

  5. #5
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    12,879
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Babylock - not an embroidery machine though - but I LOVELOVELOVE my machine. If nothing else, the one-button threader is worth the price. lol
    Martina
    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Fabric!

  6. #6
    Super Member Ruby the Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Far Far West Texas
    Posts
    1,363
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Janome 11000SE and love both the embroidery and sewing. Easy to use - Just a note if you go with a Janome make sure you keep the bobbin area lint free -
    Quilting in the Desert

  7. #7
    Member stitchnnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Azle, Texas
    Posts
    65
    MadQuilter, I definitely liked that feature on the model I looked at.

    Ruby, thanks bunches for the heads up about lint in the bobbin area. Little things like that are so great to know.

    This board has taught me ALOT in the last 2 1/2 years. Thank you, everyone on here, for all the input. Sometimes I just search the board for things I need help with.

  8. #8
    Super Member lalaland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    2,357
    What I have is a little older model than what you are considering, but comparable to the Babylock, I believe they share the same manufacturer, it is a Brother Innovis 4000D. I've had it for 4-1/2 years, it was a demo machine from a show and I paid $5,000 for it, with upgraded software. This has been an excellent machine, I have used it exclusively for embroidery, I have never sewed on it but the sewing machine capabilities are awesome (I did sew on it when I took the classes). I've had it fixed once, when the hook that pulled the thread through the needle bent. Took all of 10 minutes for the repair guy to fix and he didn't even charge me. I think it was well worth the money.
    Last edited by lalaland; 02-03-2012 at 07:01 PM.
    Chocolate is the Answer. Who cares what the question is.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Front row!
    Posts
    1,127
    I have a Bernina 640. I've owned BabyLock and Brother embroidery machines in the past as well. All stitched well, and gave me absolutely no trouble whatsoever. I bought a Bernina this last time only because my dealer closed up shop. I'm very happy with my Bernina 640, I don't plan on buying another machine now that I have this one. I love the BSR, although I'm still learning how to use it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    428
    I have a Brother Innovis 6000 and I love it. Previously, I owned a Bernina 440. It was a great machine but I wanted a larger embroidery unit. I sew, quilt and embroider on my Brother and I love it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.