Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Reviews/info on Kaye wood- tumbling blocks:Strips'nCurves techniques

  1. #1
    ArtisticDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    279
    Hi,
    When I first started quilting I got all enthusiastic about Kaye Woods Tumbling blook pattern.. I bought the pattern/template...Same with the Strips 'n Curves books ( I love these books)
    I have searched the board-youtube-googled for a tutorial..And have not found one tutorial-review or a thread on either. I do however find book reviews on amazon but, that's not what I'm looking for..
    Is there a reason for this? lol.. Anyone done eiyther of these techniques? Opinions?..Thanks bunches

  2. #2
    Super Member grammy Dwynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,950
    Blog Entries
    2
    Here is Kaye's video site;
    http://www.kayewoodtv.com/ktv/

    and her web site;
    http://www.kayewood.com/

  3. #3
    ArtisticDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    279
    Thank you GrammyD (smile)

    I did watch those vids etc before I bought the patterns/books/templates... I was just curious..There are sooo many quilt pics/ tutorials/ reviews on the board from many authors techniques out there... Just kind of shocked me that I couldn't find Any on these two people/techniques...

  4. #4
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,055
    I have done several strips and curves pieces over the years since I first learned it. Louisa Smith was once on Simply Quilts, but that doesn't help you much now, nor does my copy of the tape. :lol: I assume you have found her website http://www.quiltescapes.com/ and her blog http://louisasmith-stripper.blogspot.com/. Are you looking for something in particular?

  5. #5
    ArtisticDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    279
    Hiya Ghostrider,

    yes!...I decided to practice with her strips'n curves basic template set(the quarter circle and L shapes) last night ( which I just traced strt from the book onto grided templar)..
    Noting that she stated to make sure to write your name on the right side and don't reverse it when cutting your pieces out
    First off that templar is so thin I kept cutting into it with my rotary cutter= try scissors lol
    Second off, I watched a youtube vid on how to sew curves without pins..And about half way though sewing them together I got all excited cause they were looking great!
    By the time I got almost to the end the "L" shaped piece was about 1-2 longer than the quarter circle piece...This happened 3 times..
    Only thing I can figure out is:
    1) Either I was stretching it out by pulling too much cause the L shape is cut on the bias..
    2) Or the template in the back of the book that I traced is a messed up misprint
    3) Or It is in fact that I had the template upside down ( even though I know I checked my written name 3 times lol)
    4) Or possibly that I had my fabric folded wrong but, I thought I was getting pretty good at that and have had no problems with anything else...
    Any input/advice you have would be greatly appreciated.
    I WILL conquer circles n curves!.. It's what I want to learn most! lol

  6. #6
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,358
    Blog Entries
    20
    I don't know about her procedure for Tumbling blocks because I use a different ruler. I have watched many of her videos and really would like to try some of her patterns. Problem is, she uses all of those special rulers which would be really expensive on limited funds. Hope you find out what you need.

  7. #7
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,055
    I can only tell you what works for me and perhaps that can make a difference for you, too. I drafted my own templates because I wanted a smaller block (6" ) than the ones in the book would have given me. I then traced the templates onto the fabric, both plain and stripped, and cut them out with scissors not a rotary cutter because of the thickness of the template plastic, as you have learned. :wink:

    When piecing, I pin the heck out of the curves, L-shape on top, and sew slowly. Each piece that is cut from the strata, is actually bias cut so careful handling, even if you use heavy starch (which I do not), is critical. The odds of something stretching are very high, given the possibility of slightly off-grain strips plus bias edges.

    Fast piecing does not really matter to me, accurate piecing does. I really enjoy working with color and value and Drunkard's Path is my favorite block, so the Strips 'n Curves was a natural for me.

    This is one of my first attempts. It's called 'Blue Ridge Reverie'.

  8. #8
    ArtisticDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    279
    ohh drooling lol ...That's gorgeous ghostrider

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.