Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
reviews on a Janome SUV 1108 >

reviews on a Janome SUV 1108

reviews on a Janome SUV 1108

Old 05-12-2016, 11:16 AM

Default reviews on a Janome SUV 1108

I went into a couple quilting stores today. In the one the lady tried to sell me sewing machines that had almost 300 stitches and were $2500 at the least. The other store had a Janome SUV1108. For $200 it included the walking foot and the 1/4" foot. It seems like a good deal. I wanted to know if anyone has had any experience with this machine and if so did you like it or not? Thanks.
Old 05-12-2016, 11:36 AM

if it has one zig zag, and i needed a machine or plan to give one to a child starting sewing/quilting that would do fine.

I would never buy the 300 stitch model and i have been sewing for 50 years. Too much to go wrong. Keep it simple, buy multiple specialty machines.

I would classify the $200 machine as a "simple piecing machine" and enjoy it.

Last edited by Jane Quilter; 05-12-2016 at 11:40 AM. Reason: more thoughts
Old 05-12-2016, 11:41 AM
Power Poster

People are a lot like car salesman so they are going to point you to the more expense machine. You need to tell them what you budget is before even looking an any machines. I wouldn't look at any machine unless it had the button-hole stitch since I use that stitch I use for machine applique. I don't use any of my many optional stitches either.
Old 05-12-2016, 12:19 PM
Power Poster

I am not familiar with that machine. The biggest issue with machines in this price range is often small harp size (the area under the arm). Small harps work for piecing and quilt-as-you-go projects, but don't work well for quilting things larger than baby or lap size quilts.

Here is a link to the Janome machine online:
http://www.janomeflyer.com/janome-suv-1108/