Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Rotary cutting machine, >

Rotary cutting machine,

Rotary cutting machine,

Old 07-25-2011, 07:46 AM

I hate cutting a large amount of strips by hand (scissors or rotary cutter). I am now thinking of purchasing a fabric cutting machine, Any ideas, Need one that will cut at least 4 inch strips. What do you think of these machines and why? What do you recommend and why? Your advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you
Old 07-25-2011, 08:29 AM

I am curious about the answer to this question as I have wondered if it was worth the money to get one of these machines. I will be watching this subject.
Old 07-25-2011, 08:55 AM

Me too, I am not good at cutting with a rotary cutter and hand gets to cramping after a long time of cutting with scissors.
I am making a Bargello quilt and there is a lot of strip cutting and I think that these machines would come in real handy for this.
Old 07-25-2011, 09:03 AM
Power Poster

There have been numerous posts on this topic. Do a search on the brand name you are interested in. Usually folks with other brands will also chime in so you will get other opinions. the search hotspot is at the top of the screen.
Old 07-25-2011, 09:04 AM

We're all ears (eyes). Hope somebody has some info.
Vicky
Old 07-25-2011, 09:14 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by rivka
I've been tempted as well, but they are sooo expensive. I just can't justify the price.
Walmart here has the Simplicity rotary cutting machine and it's not that expensive. I have used one. It takes practice and it's hard to have precise cut strips each time so it wouldn't be worth it to me for perfect accurate cut strips but it's worth having just for string quilting! I used it to cut strips to wrap clothes line for the fabric baskets and strips for locker hooking and crocheting fabric strips. It's fast and I cut more then one layer at a time, just adjust the blade for thicker layers.
Old 07-25-2011, 12:23 PM

Originally Posted by sobaboo