Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sashing >

Sashing

Sashing

Old 12-28-2006, 03:10 PM

Hello, I am new to this form. Not sure if I am in the correct place. I am trying to find out how to measure for sashing. I have 7" blks and I want 2" sashing around each blk. I wish my quilt to end up 81" by 100". I bought 2yds of fabic, I am hoping that is enough. Thank you. ji
Old 12-29-2006, 05:02 PM
Banned

Here is a web page that you might find helpful, I did.

Debbie

http://www.the-quilt-center.com/measure.htm#Strips_that_can_be_cut_from_44_Wide_Fa bric

Click on Strips that can be cut from 44" Wide Fabric and see if that helps.
Old 01-01-2007, 07:39 PM

Thank you for the information.
Old 01-20-2007, 06:48 PM
Ram

Cornerstone used in Sashing Can some help me figure out the measurement to incorporate a cornerstone block into the sashing. I think I should be able to make the block or square and cut sashing strips a certain lenght rather than piecing. Thank you
Old 01-22-2007, 05:35 AM

This is how I do my sashing and cornerstones. Let's pretend we're working with a 9" block and 2" sashing. I do the vertical strips first. Cut the sashing 9" X 2 1/2 and do one row of blocks at a time. I don't put sashing on the outside edges of the blocks because you'll have a border there. So take your first block and sew a piece of sashing to the right hand side, press and sew the sashed block to the next block. Continue across the row, adding a piece of sashing to each added block. So now you have long sashed strips.