Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sensitive quilt question >

Sensitive quilt question

Sensitive quilt question

Old 11-19-2010, 05:50 PM

I was planning on making quilts for my ds and dd girlfriend/boyfriend for Christmas. I am a complete beginner to sewing so I was going to make something very simple. Sadly, my ds 18 year old girlfriend passed away last week from a blood clot in her brain. So, my questions are, would you still make it and give it to her parents? Second, I love this Loveland log cabin http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-27504-1.htm#572555 and wonder if that is too advance for me. Would that quilt design be appropriate? Third, if you'd make a quilt anyway, what pattern would you choose knowing I'm a beginner? Thank you so much!
Old 11-19-2010, 05:55 PM
Power Poster

I couldn't open the direct link, but I copied and pasted it. It is a cute quilt and I think it would be a really kind and thoughtful thing to make for her parents. I would give them some before I presented it to them. Just my opinion.

It is a log cabin, and I think you should be able to make it. You can always ask as many questions as you need to.
Old 11-19-2010, 05:57 PM

I think if you are friends with the parents it would be a very nice gesture, but I would let a little time pass as they are probably too heartbroken now. I think it's a beautiful quilt and I don't think it would be too hard for you. Remember to stay true to your seam allowance. It almost doesn't matter if it is exactly 1/4" for log cabin, just so that it is consistent. Then remember to trim as you go. Should be beautiful. Show us what you make.
Old 11-19-2010, 06:02 PM

If you were close to her and her family make the quilt. Maybe do it in her favorite colors. Christmas will be a sad time for them. I would suggest you wait til after the holidays then in a riendly gesture give it to her. tell them you had planned to give it to her but thought they would appreciate it too.