Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
To serge or not to serge >

To serge or not to serge

To serge or not to serge

Old 12-26-2013, 12:58 PM

Default To serge or not to serge

I'm new to quilting, making my first big (queen sized, for my bed) quilt, and a friend mentioned that quilts with strips have a tendency to have seams fray out. I'm planning to hand tie this quilt because I like the loft, can't afford to pay someone to LAQ it, and I'm pretty sure it'll be too bulky to machine quilt at home. So why not use the brand new serger I got for Christmas to put my strips together? I know it will use more thread, but should be sturdier, right? Any other considerations I haven't thought of?
Old 12-26-2013, 01:16 PM

I've made a quilt by serging the blocks together for the reason you stated, it raveled a lot. The quilt turned out great. But I've found it's harder to get that 1/4" seam and make sure the seams lined up without hitting pins. It can be done. There's a quilt called the 6 hour quilt and it's made with a serger. Enjoy your new toy. It's really amazing.
Old 12-26-2013, 01:18 PM

Serge it. I have made a quilt that I serged. It does better if it is just a strip quilt rather than a lot of little pieces. I didn't like the results with the squares that had little pieces.
Old 12-26-2013, 02:02 PM
Power Poster

Good advice here. I don't have a serger. I haven't had a problem with strips fraying either. I have made lots of quilts and use a closer stitch than most.
Old 12-26-2013, 04:38 PM
Power Poster

I have not had any problem with my strips fraying, but what the heck go ahead a serge it.
Old 12-26-2013, 06:48 PM

[ATTACH=CONFIG]453341[/ATTACH]. I made a twin size using my serger. The quilt is from Serge and Merge by Sharon V Rotz.
Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  

Last edited by butter14562; 12-26-2013 at 06:56 PM.
Old 12-26-2013, 07:55 PM