Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
sergers >

sergers

sergers

Old 09-07-2010, 07:41 AM

I'm considering buying a serger. I've never used one before. I make bags and simple household sewing projects, and also quilt. Would this be a machine that would be useful? I have an opportunity to buy one at a discount before my husband retires from his job(we get an employee discount).
What do you think...useful, or not needed. Also, what would you recommend and why?
Thanks for your input.
Old 09-07-2010, 07:42 AM

I love mine, and I use it for everything!! It really depends on how much you sew. #1, don't be afraid of it.
Will you get lessons?
Old 09-07-2010, 07:54 AM

I bought a serger 6 years ago, a nice used Babyloc from a sewing machine store. While I don't use if frequently, when I do it's very valuable. Because I don't use it monthly, I wouldn't buy one new. It has made making drapes, and other home dec items super easy, and you can't beat those beutifully finished seams. I'm not into making clothing items, and the one time I used it in quilting I regretted it. I was piecing together the backing of a quilt. Once I put together the quilt I was disappointed with the bulk of the seam on the back, wouldn't do that again.
Old 09-07-2010, 07:55 AM

I sew every day. Lately, I've been making bags, totes, and pillows for friends, as well as quilting.
Do I need lessons, or would I be able to teach myself using the internet and practicing on the machine?
I've taught myself to quilt using the internet and advice from friends, but no lessons.
Old 09-07-2010, 08:08 AM

You likely don't need lessons, although its nice to be taught how to care for your machine. If you can find that online too, you're all set! If you are buying new, some machines come with a video of how to use it anyway!
Old 09-07-2010, 08:12 AM