Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: sewing 1/4 straight

Hi people, I have been quilting for about 2 years, feel that i am still new to it. the worst the is that for some reason i can't keep my 1/4 steam straight. i have tried to put tape and still that doesn't seam to help. is there some kind of tool out there? i need help with this so that my quilts are just as lovely and beautiful as i see on the quiltboard. i will take any tips to help me with this.
    thanks quilting people.

bj
    I keep a small piece of moleskin (Dr. Scholl's) at the 1/4" mark to help me keep straight.

Blog Entries
    There have been lots of suggestions. Some people use the Dr. Scholls cut in a strip, or I remember one person taped a pad of post-it notes 1/4" to the right of the needle. This would give you a tall, firm edge to keep your fabric against. Maybe this would help you develop an eye for that elusive scant 1/4".

I just bought the 1/4" foot for my feather weight machine and it has helped me a lot. My other machines have the 1/4" line on them and for some reason I do good with that. Go figure.

Blog Entries
    I have a 1/4" foot. It has a 'bar' on the right side of the foot. You hold your fabric right up to that 'bar'. I don't know what I did before I got it.

Here's a picture of the one I have:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Blog Entries