Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: SEWING MACHINE

Hi,

I'm new to quilting, I would love to by a nice sewing machine, but
    can't afford 2 to 10 thousand dollars at this moment, does anyone
    know of a sewing machine that is good but won't put a strain on my
    checking account.
    Linda

Blog Entries
    how much can you budget for the new machine? that will help the others make practical suggestions of brands and models for you to consider.

If I were you, I would do what I should have done when I started sewing and quilting. Buy a vintage sewing machine, like a 60s model. They are very heavy, but they are dependable workhorses, and the beauty of it is, they are only able 20-40 dollars.

Now please understand that you are going to hear from a lot of people and everyone loves their machine and their brand. The best thing to do if possible is to try out any machine that you are going to think about buying.

I recommend the following Janome sewing machine only because I have first hand experience with it. Just bought it for my daughter who is a beginner sewer and quilter. She is accomplishing both with this machine. It was easy to set up. The manual is beautifully written and works perfectly with the machine like it says it does.

http://www.hancockfabrics.com/Janome...VVviewprod.htm

If I were going to buy a new one in that price range that would be the one. I fell in love with it just setting it up for her......lol.

Having said that, if you have access to a 60's or 70's machine......I have both which are Singers.......they are work horses.....

Hope this helps,