Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 51

Thread: Sewing machine throwing a fit...chewing up corner of fabric

  1. #21
    Super Member joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    8,357
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Pfaff Expressions 4 and the same thing happens to me all the time. I've tried a new needle, changed thread, pulled the last sewn piece to create tension, and also started with a leader. Changing to a single hole is not an option on this machine. There have been times I've literally sewn the leader to the seam to get it started. Points on triangles are the worst.
    Joyce

  2. #22
    Super Member Nanaquilts44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    1,994
    I am glad I read this thread. I have had this happen lately on my machine. Think I will change my needle. Thanks for all the tips.

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Rain Country USA
    Posts
    298
    Blog Entries
    5
    I hope that fixed it! We do realize that needles travel several miles at high speeds through a multitude of layers? So, first thing I have learned to check is the needle. Second is to clean out the bobbin area and the feed dogs --amazing how fast the lint can build up and cause troubles. I think that is why the single hole straight stitch needle plate on older machines works better than those that allow for zigzag motion. Not as much exposure to the elements as it were. I was taught by my grandmothers to keep plenty of needles on hand and change at least when I started a new project.

    Quote Originally Posted by BeckyB View Post
    boy what are the odds! I quit sewing the other day for that same reason....guess I will change the needle

  4. #24
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,010
    If you don't have a single hole plate you can carefully cut narrow short pieces of masking tape and place on each side of the large needle hole to narrow it. Just don't cover the feed dogs.

  5. #25
    Super Member QuiltnLady1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,886
    I use the "sew off/sew ons" -- a piece of fabric that I feed through first, stopping as soon as I can slip the end of the triangle under the presser foot, then start sewing again. I don't seem to have the problem with the ends getting chewed up any more.
    QuiltnLady1

    When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    64
    all you need to do is take a piece of scrap fabric and put that directly behind the piece you are sewing before you start so your machine wont drag your fabric down. works likke a charm every time!

  7. #27
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,583
    Blog Entries
    19
    Switch machines. Don't you have a 99? Your avatar is a FW. You really need a single hole plate, or even better a straight stitch only machine. You'll be pleased when your 301 is ready to sew.

  8. #28
    Senior Member pinkberrykay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    SOO, MI
    Posts
    825
    I do use a leader fabric and changing the needle helped tremendously. Yes I do have a featherweight and other machine I can use but I don't have enough confidence to do an entire quilt on one yet.

  9. #29
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,583
    Blog Entries
    19
    You don't have to do the entire quilt on the FW, just the HSTs. When my GD was using my 301, I did my HSTs on my 15 clone. The quilt didn't care and it worked because it's a straight stitch, too. I also like to use a second machine because I have a metal accessory on the 301 to help with the 1/4" seam and by using the 15, I don't have to move and replace it.
    Last edited by irishrose; 08-06-2012 at 07:45 PM.

  10. #30
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,716
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by irishrose View Post
    You don't have to do the entire quilt on the FW, just the HSTs.
    I agree, and if you're concerned because someone has told you that once you start a quilt on a machine, you have to finish on that machine - all you have to be nervous about is if your 1/4" seam is the same from one machine to the next. If you can sew an accurate 1/4" seam on both machines, then by all means, use a different machine to sew the HSTs on.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.