Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Should I baste?

I am a newbie to machine quilting and have made about 4 quilts by hand. I just got a new machine from my wonderful hubby and I am learning all the bells and whistles on it. Have never done free motion quilting so I am practicing with some scraps from my stash. I tried doing some practicing with a layer of batting in between the two fabrics. I basted it all together like I did with my other quilts ---- BUT when I tried to do free motion the basting got tangled up with the presser foot. Sjould I still baste, or is there another, better way?
    Thanks

I always use spray basteing, even for small projects. Use it sparingly, and preferably, outside--it just takes a second, and a couple of very quick spritzes, and you are done.
    If I planned to enter the quilt at Paducah, then, and only then, would I consider actually basteing! :thumbup: :lol:

Thank you. I assume the spray basting does not mess the sewing machine up?

Blog Entries
    I use pins or spray baste... with pins, I remove them in the area where I am quilting, can you do the same with the basting stitches?

I do not have any trouble with the basting spray and my machine. Just make sure that you purchase temporary basting spray :wink: made for quilting :D:D:D

I hand baste mine also. You can remove the basting inthe area you're quilting just as you would with pins.

Thank you ;)

Spray basting is the greatest. No pins to remove and no basting thread in the way. And.....for me at least.....it seems to hold the layers better.