Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Singer 7469Q Confidence Quilter Sewing Machine >

Singer 7469Q Confidence Quilter Sewing Machine

Singer 7469Q Confidence Quilter Sewing Machine

Old 03-21-2014, 05:46 PM

Default Singer 7469Q Confidence Quilter Sewing Machine

I'm a newbie to quilting and interested in trying free motion quilting. I'm considering the Singer 7469Q but would like to hear some feedback. I like the price of the Singer but if there are better options out there, I'd like to hear from some experienced quilters. Thanks!
Old 03-21-2014, 06:21 PM
Power Poster

I would not consider a Singer machine nowadays (although the vintage Singers are still wonderful machines). For the same price, a Brother machine from Walmart is likely to be a better purchase. Quite a few quilters here have liked this one: http://www.amazon.com/Brother-Featur...dp/B000JQM1DE/
Old 03-21-2014, 06:29 PM

Thanks for your input. I have my mom's 60 year old Domestic cabinet that I learned to sew on but it has its limitations so I need something for straight sewing as well. Would the Brother be a good all-around machine too?
Old 03-21-2014, 06:36 PM
Power Poster

It's a good all-around sewing machine. The only thing is that, like most other domestic sewing machines, the harp is small for pushing a large quilt through. It also is not a particularly heavy-duty machine for quilting. However, it would be fine for baby quilts and lap size quilts. Anything with a larger harp is going to be much more expensive.
Old 03-21-2014, 07:15 PM

I'm not really looking to do anything large at this point. I'm just trying to get my feet wet with a good machine that will allow me to try some FMQ as well as the ability to do straight sewing. The Brother seems like it would fit my needs very well. Thanks so much for your input!
Old 03-21-2014, 08:16 PM